Marijuana dispensaries are gaining in popularity, but the state of Michigan is not yet ready for retail marijuana sales. So marijuana is currently sold exclusively through medical cannabis licenses. If you want to open a marijuana dispensary in michigan and make your own rules regarding. Who can buy what and how much they’re allow to buy, then this article will tell you all about it. We’ll lay out everything from the initial licensing process to purchasing Property and setting up a system for inventory control, making sure cannabis isn’t running low on the product or getting into trouble with the law.
We’ll cover everything from registering with the state to selling those elusive “clones” of plants and keeping track of your finances as an expert accountant would. If you’re interested in starting a medical marijuana dispensary, then be sure to read up on the following tips:
1. Know What State License You Need
The first thing you’ll want to do is find out what kind of license you need to open a Michigan medical marijuana dispensary. To obtain a state license, the Michigan Medical Marihuana Act requires three things: an application fee, site plans, and the approval of local authorities. To open a marijuana dispensary in michigan All applications are first reviewed by local authorities. Where the applicants plan to open their business before they are submitted to the state. You can find more information about this process here or read our guide on how to start a dispensary here if you want some background information on it.
2. Get the License
Once you’ve decided to launch a medical marijuana dispensary, you’ll need to submit an application and pay the $600 application fee to do so. In addition, if you’re getting a license for your personal use, you would have to complete a two-year assisted living facility registration for $600 as well. Once approved, you’ll receive your license from the state in a few weeks . It is time to get on with some other things that should complete before opening your business!
3. Register and Buy Property
The next thing you’ll want is to register your open a marijuana dispensary in michiganand buy the Property for it. You can begin doing that online by going to the Michigan Medical Marihuana Facilities website. If you’re purchasing a building, make sure you get an architectural design from an architect before submitting your registration application. Be sure to understand the local zoning requirements and know whether or not your Property can be close to schools, parks, and daycare facilities . The state has regulations that govern distances between schools and medical marijuana dispensaries here. Be sure to follow them as well.
4. Receive a Local License
Your next step after buying the Property is to apply for a local license from your county or township. The state of Michigan has outlined all of the steps for doing so here, so be sure to follow them exactly if you choose to apply through the state. As soon as you have an agreement with your local government that you can operate a dispensary on your Property. You will then be able to submit an application and pay an annual licensing fee of $5,000. The licensing process isn’t too expensive, but keep in mind that many towns don’t want dispensaries, and they’re not always easy to find if they are open at all.
5. Plan for Inventory and Security
If you’re interested in open a marijuana dispensary in michigan. Then you’ll need to start preparing for the inventory process. Things are a little different in inventory than other businesses because of the nature of cannabis — there’s no way to test or properly weigh certain products, so it is up to you to keep track of them yourself. Cannabis is regulating under the Controlled Substances Act. So guidelines must be following for things like packaging and labelling your product.
6. Make Sure Your License Is Up-to-Date
If you’ve been operating within the guidelines set out by the state, then be sure to contact them every three months or so so they can keep your license up to date. Michigan has many rules for medical marijuana dispensaries, so be sure to read up on them here. Any changes in your business will require you to inform the state and submit a new application for your license.